The Daily Drinker - wines for the inquisitive palate
Your Shopping Basket

Your shopping basket is empty

Wine Selector
share us on Facebook mention us on Twitter add us to your board

Press Reviews and Awards

Read what the press say about The Daily Drinker and our wines...

2016 Graciano, Bodegas Ondarre - Tom Cannavan's Wine of the Week, 27/05/2019


2017 Blaufrankisch, Balla Geza - Joanna Simon's Wine of The Week, 23/05/2019


2018 Mustoasa de Maderat, Balla Geza - Tom Cannavan's Wine of The Week, 29/04/2019


 "Cretan wines are the stuff of legend - and these are the bottles you should buy." Victoria Moore in The Telegraph on Saturday, 29/04/2019, writing about the wines of Domaine Lyrarakis in Crete


 2017 Furmint Egy Kis, Barta Pince - Joanna Simon's Wine of The Week, 07/02/2019


 2017 Cinsault Gallardia, De Martino Tom Cannavan's Wine of The Week, 28/01/2019


 2016 Assyrtiko, Akrathos - selected by Joanna Simon in her "Festive White Wine Guide 2018", December 2018


 2016 Assyrtiko, Akrathos - selected by Jancis Robinson in the Financial Times as one of "The best white wines to drink at Christmas"November 2018


 2016 Prieto Picudo Calandria, Bodegas BeloteJoanna Simon's Wine of The Week, 25/10/2018.


 

 

The Daily Drinker shortlisted for Decanter 2018 Subscription Wine Club of the Year.
Sadly, we didn't win (again!) and were beaten by Lay & Wheeler's Wine Discovery Club.

 


2016 Sangiovese Brio, Castello Romitorio - Tom Cannavan's Wine of The Week on wine-pages.com, 20th August 2018


 

 

 

The Daily Drinker shortlisted for International Wine Challenge 2018 Wine Club of the Year.
Sadly, we didn't win the title but were beaten by The Wine Society. Better luck next year! 

 

 


 2016 Grenache Le Paradou, Château Pesquié - Tom Cannavan's Wine of The Week, 07/05/2018. "A flavour-packed, but very approachable red wine that's broadly food-friendly."


 "Txakoli - a must-try wine (even if you don't want to pronounce it)" Joanna Simon's blog post about Bodegas Astobiza and the delicious 2016 Txakoli Gorabie, Bodegas Astobiza, 11th April 2018


 "Expanding wine drinkers' horizons: The Daily Drinker". Joanna Simon's blog post about The Daily Drinker Wine Club and some of our wines, 6th March 2018


 2015 Trebbiano d'Abruzzo, Viticolo Venea - Joanna Simon's Wine of The Week, 01/03/2018. A Trebbiano but not as we know it...


 2015 Vranec Classic, Tikves Winery - International Wine Challenge Gold Medal and Macedonian Trophy, June 2017. Try the 2013 Vranec Classic, Tikves Winery. 


Decanter World Wine Awards Silver Medal Winner & highest scoring Loire rosé - 2016 Le Carillon de Vendôme Pineau d'Aunis, Cave du Vendômois, June 2017


The Daily Drinker is one of the "9 best wine clubs in the UK", at least according to The Independent. We "keep you away from the "tried and tested" wine regions". IndyBest, Tuesday 16th May 2017


"Wine: Ancient wonders ripe for revival" by Will Lyons in The Sunday Times, Sunday 14th May 2017.  Including a review of 2014 Narince, Kayra.


2014 Cinsault, Leeuwenkuil from South Africa. Tom Cannavan's Wine of The Week on wine-pages.com, 24th April 2017.


2015 Chenin Blanc OVNI, Domaine Mourat from France. Tom Cannavan's Wine of The Week on wine-pages.com, 13th March 2017. 


2015 Zelen, Zorz from Slovenia. Tom Cannavan's Wine of The Week on wine-pages.com, 15th January 2017
And on @winepages twitter feed: "Wine of the Week: another flash of the unusual and inspired from : a crisp and aromatic white". 


Tom Cannavan of wine-pages.com succinctly sums up The Daily Drinker and all that we stand for. ""...this is a business that does not just pay lip-service to offering something different – something that’s a real alternative to the High Street – but which lives and breathes it. [...] It’s an innovative take on the ‘Wine of the Month’ club, and very different from some of the biggest players in the UK who operate such schemes." Read the full review on wine-pages.com, 8th December 2016


 2014 Dry Furmint, Megyer - Wine of The Week on Tom Cannavan's wine-pages.com, 30th October 2016


 Great review of Kayra wines from Turkey on, including the 2014 Narince, Kayra - wine-pages.com, 6th October 2016


 "Well done Daily Drinker and well done M&S. Others take note." Praise for our eclectic range of good quality wines on The Wine Gang's Blog, 2nd September 2016


Six Wines tasted from the Wine Club for Adventurous Drinkers. 
Tasted by Tom Cannavan and "found to be of really excellent quality, but more than that, to accurately reflect their ethos of potentially expanding the wine drinkers’ horizons." www.wine-pages.com, 25th August 2016


 Steve Slatcher, www.winenous.co.uk, 14th March 2016
Great write-up of 2011 Rufete Roble from Arribes del Duero. Sadly now out of stock...


The Daily Drinker Quintet by Tom Cannavan on www.winepages.com, 24th February 2016
"...join in a voyage of discovery that's unlike most other wine clubs..."
Read the full, glowing, review of The Daily Drinker http://wine-pages.com/tasting-articles/daily-drinker-trio/ 


Tom Cannavan's Wine of the Week on www.winepages.com, 11th January 2016
2014 Xarel-lo Desig, Mas Candi - "a terrific white from Penedes, Spain"
And a great review of The Daily Drinker in general. Watch his review youtu.be/AW9fzXjwpQ0 


Jamie Goode in The Sunday Express Magazine, 11th October 2015
2014 Verdejo Monte Blanco, Ramon Bilbao - one of "The 7 Best Spanish White Wines"


Tom Cannavan's Wine of the Week on www.winepages.com, 20th Sept, 2015
2014 Carignan Vieilles Vignes Pietas, Producteurs Reunis. Watch Tom's video review here http://bit.ly/1OKldrD


Tom Cannavan's Wine of the Week on www.winepages.com, 26th July, 2015
2013 Melnik 55, Logodaj. Watch Tom's video review here http://bit.ly/1V5im1x


Wall Street Journal "What's The Point of Scoring Wines", Friday 4th Sept, 2015
Will Lyon's review of our delicious 2014 Padeiro, Quinta de Gomariz, plus a quote from Caspar Bowes regarding the practice of scoring wines... http://on.wsj.com/1UrmIzQ


Wall Street Journal "Common Wine Faults Explained", Friday 8th May, 2015
Our 2014 Loureiro, Quinta de Gomariz and 2012 Primitivo Cantele
http://on.wsj.com/1JTIgyR


Wall Street Journal "Off Duty", Friday - Sunday, November 7-9, 2014
Our 2013 Grillo Aquilae, Canicatti comes to the rescue of Will Lyon's palate...
 Read the full article here.


Wine Woman & Song, 30th September 2013
A blog post by wine-writer Juel Mahoney, Sketches of Summer 2013: The Eastern Mediterranean Moment in London - http://bit.ly/1bosCeX

Outstanding praise for our Greek wines plus our wine club, "a brilliant wine club for those who want an adventure to accompany their wines". 


The Drinks Business, 20th August 2013
Top 10 Wines in the UK Press - http://bit.ly/1dphBbr
Includes our 2012 Robola, Gentilini as written up by Rose Murray Brown (see below)


The Scotsman, 10th August 2013
Rose  Murray-Brown on our 2012 Robola, Gentilini
W
ine: Beat the heat with summery white wines - http://bit.ly/19GFuvU


Jancis Robinson's Purple Pages, 12 April 2013
Review of The Daily Drinker by Jancis Robinson.
"Caspar [...] sets the bar pretty high."
If you are a member of Purple Pages, read the full article here - http://bit.ly/10QS1Uq. If not, open this PDF file 


Customer review of 2011 Teran, Kozlovic Winery
"We had our neighbour around last night and opened the April DD Croatian wine that arrived yesterday. My goodness me, this was a surprise. It is stunningly good wine, one of the best I've drunk for a long time. It has such richness and in spite of being bone dry, a sweetness that's hard to describe. It tastes like wine worth several times its retail price and I shall definitely be getting more of this one - what a find. It's the first time I've knowingly drunk Croatian wine and I would never have chosen to buy it - I do love the Daily Drinker!"


Seasonal coverage in Decanter.com, 30 November 2012
Christmas Champagne Deals - http://bit.ly/11VGWTH 
Featuring our Larnaudie-Hirault Champagnes

Christmas Gift Guide 2012 - http://bit.ly/TKaHSb
Featuring our wine club membership


Wall Street Journal, 1 November 2012
Will Lyons, There's a Wine For Every Margherita - http://on.wsj.com/VvmecM 
Especially our 2010 Uva di Troia Posta Piana, Cantine Paradiso


www.timatkin.com, 24 August 2012
A ferment about Furmint by Matt Walls - http://t.co/KsGzMCVG
including a review of 2009 Sipon, Dveri Pax


www.timatkin.com, August 2012
Review of 2009 Xinomavro Naoussa Jeunes Vignes, Apostolos Thymiopolous


Twitter, 13 July 2012
Tweeted by William Lyons ‏@Will_Lyons
"I'm beginning to think @TheGrapeJockey has one of the finest palates in England. #wine #vin"
(For those of you who don't know, @Will_Lyons is the well-respected wine journalist for the WSJ Europe and @TheGrapeJockey is our very own Caspar Bowes!)


www.timatkin.com, July 2012
Review of 2011 Mantinea Nassiakos, Semeli


Wall Street Journal Europe, 30 June 2012
Will Lyons, Greece's Red and White Hope - http://on.wsj.com/MCxP5n
With particular reference to 2009 Tsapournakos, Ktima Voyatzis


The Daily Mail, 23 June 2012
Matthew Jukes' Five terrific summer wines - http://bit.ly/LPixuk
Includes our 2011 Aubun Rosé Les Quatres Reines, Domaine de Lansac
He actually lists another stockist for this wine but our price is more competitive!


Wall Street Journal Europe, 15 June 2012
Will Lyons' Summer Drinking: A Case of Wines - http://on.wsj.com/LKQ47d 
Includes our 2011 Aubun Rosé Les Quatres Reines, Domaine de Lansac


The Scotsman, 10 June 2012
Rose Murray Brown, The Spice of Life - http://bit.ly/MS6Kdh


"I love getting my daily drinker delivery precisely because I don’t know what to expect, and I love the tasting notes...quite often a friend who also enjoys his wine and I will taste blind, make all sorts of knowledgeable-sounding comments and expressions, and then read the notes to discover just how wrong we were. All good fun." Richard H


Homes & Gardens, Jan 2012
3 of the best wine websites -


An Empowering Tasting, 19 Sept 2011 by Jancis Robinson
2009 Novac, Prince Stirbey but read her full report on JancisRobinson.com - http://bit.ly/KbWn5F


Horse & Hounds, Nov 2011
H&H Top Pick - Christmas Presents for Him -


The Field, Nov 2011
Top Trumps, Ace Presents -

The Daily Drinker
Bowes Wine Limited
P.O. Box 2272, Melksham, Wiltshire, SN12 6ZG

t: +44 (0)1380 827291
w: www.thedailydrinker.co.uk
e: victoria@thedailydrinker.co.uk